Uusi opinto-opas (sisältäen myös opetusohjelmat) lukuvuodelle 2018-2019 sijaitsee osoitteessa https://opas.peppi.utu.fi . Tältä sivustolta löytyvät enää vanhat opinto-oppaat ja opetusohjelmat.

The new study guide (incl. teaching schedules) for academic year 2018-2019 can be found at https://studyguide.utu.fi. This site contains only previous years' guides.

x !
Archived Curricula Guide 2013–2014
Curricula Guide is archieved. Please refer to current Curricula Guides
PASI4200 Asian Studies Programme, 25–31 ECTS

Learning outcomes

The Asian Studies Programme is an interdisciplinary BA level study programme which provides students basic knowledge of Asia. It is a good introduction to Asia for all students whose study or career plans relate to the region. The Programme is arranged by the University Network for Asian Studies.


The Asian Programme is arranged on the Internet, in the Moodle learning environment. The courses consist of distance learning lectures, literature exams, web courses and essays.

There are five optional modules in the Programme. The Programme can be taken as a 25-credit minor subject or in smaller course entities. Students who want to complete the Asian Programme as a minor have to take at least four whole modules and at least 25 credits in total.

Modules of the Asian Programme

A: Cultural History of East and Southeast Asia, 2 or 6 cr, spring term
B: Society and Politics in East and Southeast Asia, 2 or 6 cr, spring term
C: Business in East and Southeast Asia, 2, 5 or 7 cr, autumn term
D: Language and Communication in East and Southeast Asia, 6 cr, autumn term
E: India in World Politics, 6 cr, autumn term

Detailed information about the courses is available at www.asianet.fi


Numeric 0-5.

Further information

The Application period for the Programme starts in October. Exact deadlines and dates are announced on the website www.asianet.fi.

The courses are free for all students who hold a valid study right in one of the University Network's member universities: Aalto University, Lappeenranta Technical University and the universities of Eastern Finland, Jyväskylä, Oulu, Tampere, Turku and Vaasa.

expand all
Department of Philosophy, Contemp.History and Political Sc.
Contemporary History
Political Science