Uusi opinto-opas (sisältäen myös opetusohjelmat) lukuvuodelle 2018-2019 sijaitsee osoitteessa https://opas.peppi.utu.fi . Tältä sivustolta löytyvät enää vanhat opinto-oppaat ja opetusohjelmat.

The new study guide (incl. teaching schedules) for academic year 2018-2019 can be found at https://studyguide.utu.fi. This site contains only previous years' guides.

x !
Arkistoitu opetussuunnitelma 2016–2018
Selaamasi opetussuunnitelma ei ole enää voimassa. Tarkista tiedot voimassa olevasta opetussuunnitelmasta.
PASI4200 Asian Studies Programme, 25–31 op

Learning outcomes

The Asian Programme is an interdisciplinary Bachelor level study programme which provides students basic knowledge of Asia. It is a good introduction to Asia for all students whose study or career plans relate to the region.The programme is coordinated by the University Network for Asian Studies.


The Asian Programme is arranged on the Internet, in the Moodle learning environment. The courses consist of lecture presentations, literature exams, web assignments and essays.

To get the Asian Programme Basic Studies minor choose at least three (3) basic studies courses and additional basic or advanced level courses to get a minimum of 25 ECTS.

Asian Programme Basic Studies Courses:

1. Contemporary East Asia (6 ECTS) (spring term)
2. Contemporary Southeast Asia (5 ECTS) (spring term)
3. Contemporary South Asia (5 ECTS) (spring term)
4. Culture in East and Southeast Asia (6 ECTS) (autumn term)
5. Business in East and Southeast Asia (6 ECTS) (autumn term)

See the list of possible advanced level courses from our website www.asianet.fi.

If you cannot fit the Asian Programme into your degree, see our new 10 ECTS Mini Minor in Asian Studies from our website www.asianet.fi.


Numeric 0-5.

Further information

The application period for all the courses is organized each year in September. The application form and guidelines will be announced on www.asianet.fi.

The courses are free for all students who hold a valid study right in one of the University Network's member universities. Member universities are: Aalto University, Lappeenranta University of Technology, Universities of Jyväskylä, Oulu, Tampere, Turku and Vaasa and the Åbo Akademi University. When applying for courses held from 2017 onwards, check the updated membership information from our website. Other interested persons can take these courses either with an approval from their own university of applied sciences (AMK-students) or as self-paying students (all others). Read more from our website.

Belongs to following modules

Filosofian, poliittisen historian ja valtio-opin laitos
expand all
Filosofian, poliittisen historian ja valtio-opin laitos
MDP in East Asian Studies