Curricula Guides

Uusi opinto-opas (sisältäen myös opetusohjelmat) lukuvuodelle 2018-2019 sijaitsee osoitteessa https://opas.peppi.utu.fi . Tältä sivustolta löytyvät enää vanhat opinto-oppaat ja opetusohjelmat.

The new study guide (incl. teaching schedules) for academic year 2018-2019 can be found at https://studyguide.utu.fi. This site contains only previous years' guides.

x !
Archived Curricula Guide 2016–2018
Curricula Guide is archieved. Please refer to current Curricula Guides
BIDI0005 Advanced Special Topic Course 3–9 ECTS
Organised by
Business and Innovation Development
Person in charge
Vesa Hautala; Pasi Malinen, Antti Paasio, Kaisu Paasio; Petteri Sinervo and Sari Stenvall-Virtanen (2016-2017), Pasi Malinen, Antti Paasio, Kaisu Paasio; Tuomas Ranti, Petteri Sinervo and Sari Stenvall-Virtanen (2017-2018)

Learning outcomes

This advanced special course aims at increasing and deepening the student's advanced level knowledge of a specific, chosen theme in the area of innovation and business. The course allows the student to focus on an issue that (s)he finds relevant and interesting according to her/his own scientific discipline or other interests. The student selects one of the below mentioned topics.

Contents

The students familiarize themselves with a relevant special topic in the field of innovation and business related to their own discipline, specific industry or specific business.
Topic 1: Entrepreneurship and innovations. Responsible teacher: Antti Paasio (antti.paasio@utu.fi)
Topic 2: Business opportunities and business models. Responsible teacher: Pasi Malinen (pasi.malinen@utu.fi)
Topic 3: Risk Finance, early stage and growth. Responsible teacher: Petteri Sinervo (petteri.sinervo@utu.fi)
Topic 4: Practical tools for business development (business plan, market and competitor analysis), Responsible teacher 2016-2017: Vesa Hautala (vesa.hautala@utu.fi), 2017-2018: Tuomas Ranti (tuomas.ranti@utu.fi)
Topic 5: Entrepreneurial career. Responsible teacher: Kaisu Paasio (kaisu.paasio@utu.fi)
Topic 6: Practical development project on innovation and business. Responsible teachers: Sari Stenvall-Virtanen (sari.stenvall@utu.fi) and Pasi Malinen (pasi.malinen@utu.fi)

Further information on prerequisites and recommendations

The student will contact the responsible teacher to agree on the topic, focus of the work, ap-proach, depth of analysis, required literature and timetable. All these aspects affect to the ECTS credits gained.

Teaching methods

Independent work, written report, no lectures.

Each topic is worth 3 ECTS. The student will contact the responsible teacher to agree on the topic specifications, focus of the work, approach, depth of analysis, required literature and timetable.

Teaching language

English

Modes of study

Option 1
Available for:
  • Degree Programme Students
  • Other Students
  • Doctoral Students
  • Exchange Students
Exercise(s)
  • In English

Evaluation

Numeric 0-5.

Recommended year of study

3rd or 4th year

Further information

To be agreed with the responsible teacher.

The IBC students can complete either 3 ECTS or 6 ECTS by selecting one or two of the topics. EIT Digital Master's degree students will complete the course with 9 ECTS.

Belongs to following study modules

Turku School of Economics
2016–2017
Teaching
Archived Teaching Schedule. Please refer to current Teaching Shedule.
Implementation details are unavailable.
Turku School of Economics
Finnish Study Modules
Common Studies
Postgraduate Degrees, TSE
UTU Graduate School, Studies in Field of Business